Community of Malpeque Bay Regular Council Meeting June 27, 2012 Hamilton Hall

Attendance:	James Carruthers, Darren Cousins, Jamie Crozier, Herb Clark, Jeremy Stiles, Bob Beairsto
Administrator:	Joanne McCarvill
Regrets:	Grafton Cole

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Carruthers at 9:50 pm following the scheduled advertised Open House.

Adoption of Agenda

The Agenda was adopted as presented.

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the May 16, 2012 Regular Council Meeting were approved as circulated.

Business Arising

It was identified that the Malpeque Historical Society has submitted the documentation necessary in the process for petitioning to have the Malpeque Front Range Lighthouse declared heritage and was awaiting a response from DFO. Mike Delaney indicated that he would contact Joanne McCarvill when a response was received. Herb Clark identified that he had visited both the Front and Back Range Lighthouses and had spoken with Elizabeth McCrossin who indicated that she and a group of locals might possibly be interested in being custodians of the Lighthouses. Council will wait to hear from Mike Delaney.

A discussion followed on the Special Planning Area in relation to the adoption of the Official Plan.

Minutes – Community of Malpeque Bay

The following Resolution was moved by Bob Beairsto and seconded by Jeremy Stiles.

BE IT RESOLVED that removal of the "Special Planning Area" as defined in Provincial legislation that lies within the boundaries of the Community of Malpeque Bay be a condition for the establishment of the Community of Malpeque Bay's Official Plan and that the Plan will not be implemented by the Community of Malpeque Bay until the Provincial legislation is amended.

BE IT ALSO RESOLVED that this **RESOLUTION** is subject to the approval of Community Residents to be obtained at a Special Meeting scheduled for Thursday, July 19, 2012 at 7PM, Malpeque Hall. The **Resolution** will be posted on the web site and residents will be given the opportunity to email Council their opinion prior to the scheduled Special Meeting. The meeting will be advertised in the Guardian, Journal Pioneer and County Line Courier newspapers. **MOTION CARRIED**

Dated this 27th day of June 2012 at Hamilton, Prince Edward Island

James Carruthers, Chairman, Community of Malpeque Bay. June 27, 2012

Joanne McCarvill, Administrator, Community of Malpeque Bay. June 27, 2012

Minutes – Community of Malpeque Bay

New Business

Joanne identified that there were five community graduates awarded the Community of Malpeque Bay Prize of \$25.00 at the graduation ceremony on June 20, 2012. The grads are: Tara Champion (Darnley), Brittany Cole (Baltic), Spencer Drummond (Hamilton), Andrea Hickey (Darnley), and, Patrick MacLellan (Indian River). A thank you note from Brittany Cole was read at the meeting.

The meeting adjoured at 10:15 PM.

James Carruthers, Chairman

Joanne McCarvill, Administrator

Minutes – Community of Malpeque Bay